Salesperson Licensing Requirements
For Sales Agents Licensed for a Full Two Years Since May 31, 2020
If you have been licensed for a full two years since May 31, 2020, you will need to complete 16 hours of CE comprised of the 4-hour 2020-2022 Mandatory Course and 12 hours of credits of your choosing. The Code of Ethics required for your NAR membership is NOT required for your license with the State. However, if you took the Code of Ethics and have 3 hours of CE, this may be used towards the 16 hours.
For New Sales Agents Licensed AFTER June 1, 2020
If you are a new sales agent licensed after June 1, 2020, when you renew your license, you will need to provide the Real Estate Commission with proof of completion of your 8 hours of approved Post-Licensure CE that was taken within 90 days of your license being issued. These certificates are to be held by you until you renew your license in May of 2022. If you took the NVBR New Agent Orientation to meet this requirement, your certificate can be accessed on the NVBR Member Portal. You do not need any additional CE if you are less than 2 years licensed. The additional 16 hours will not be necessary until the next time you renew your license in 2024.
Broker Licensing Requirements
For Brokers Licensed for a Full Two Years Since May 31, 2020
Brokers who have been licensed for a full two years since March 31, 2020, will need to complete 24 hours of CE which must include the 2020-2022 Mandatory Course. The Mandatory course is 4 hours and the remaining 20 hours can be of your choosing. The Code of Ethics that is required for your NAR membership is NOT required for your license with the State. However, if you took the Code of Ethics and have 3 hours of CE, this may be used towards the 24 hours.
For Brokers Licensed for Less than Two Years After April 1, 2020
If you are licensed as a BROKER for less than two years, after April 1st, 2020, you do not need any additional CE for this renewal cycle. You will need 24 hours for the next renewal in March of 2024.
The State Energy Goals Education Requirement for License Renewal
In 2020, the Vermont General Assembly passed Act 178 which required certain licensed professionals, including real estate brokers and salespersons, to complete an education module related to the State’s energy goals as a condition for license renewal.
To help meet this new requirement, the Office of Profession Regulation (OPR) partnered with other agencies to produce a PowerPoint that offers a concise, general orientation on the State’s energy goals. To save time, it is recommended that you view the PowerPoint before you renew your license.
At the first upcoming renewal – the application form will require that you affirm having completed the orientation module linked above. It cannot be counted toward continuing education or competency requirements. For future renewals, we anticipate that there will be a menu of options on ways to satisfy this requirement included continuing education courses.
Important Facts about your Continuing Education
NVRA does not regulate real estate licensing. For information about license regulations, contact the Vermont Real Estate Commission (VREC).
NVRA does not track continuing education credits. It is the responsibility of the real estate professional to track credits.
Continuing education certificates do not need to be submitted to VREC for license renewal. However, you must keep copies/records of certificates in the event you or your business is audited.
NVRA can provide information and certificates for any class that the Association sponsors.