The Northwest Vermont REALTOR® Association (NVRA) serves REALTORS® and affiliated businesses in Chittenden, Franklin and Grand Isle Counties.

NVRA provides leadership for the REALTOR® community by protecting the interests of its members, promoting their value to the real estate consumer, setting high standards for professional practice, and advocating private property rights.

Chittenden County

Chittenden County is located in northwestern Vermont between Lake Champlain and the highest peaks of the Green Mountains. The County’s nearly 350,000 total acres have a rich diversity of landscapes: forests, farms, water bodies, small cities, suburban areas, and villages. Founded in 1787, Chittenden County has about 158,000 residents living in 19 municipalities that range in size from 43 to almost 40,000 residents. The County is the heart of the Burlington – South Burlington Metropolitan Statistical Area (the economic engine of Vermont); home to the State’s largest higher education institution, health care facility, and private sector employer; and nationally recognized as having an outstanding quality of life. Unlike many rural regions which have experienced population decline in the past 30 years, Chittenden County is growing, and at a rate higher than the rest of Vermont, higher than the New England region, and higher than the U.S. as a whole.


Franklin County

Franklin County is a county located in the U.S. state of Vermont. As of the 2020 census, the population was 49,946. Its county seat is the city of St. Albans. It borders the Canadian province of Quebec. The county was created in 1792 and organized in 1796. Franklin County is part of the Burlington metropolitan area. A population density of 27 people per km². Its county seat is St. Albans. The county was created 229 years ago in 1791.

Grand Isle County

Grand Isle County is a county in the U.S. state of Vermont. As of the 2020 census, the population was 7,293, making it Vermont’s second-least populous county. Its shire town (county seat) is North Hero. The county was created in 1802 and organized in 1805.

Grand Isle County is part of the Burlington metropolitan area. The county does not have a high school; students choose from a number of high schools in neighboring counties.